Esports Sensation: FIFAe Club World Cup

In late February, EA SPORTS FIFA esports clubs played in the ultimate tournament, with players representing their clubs from their homes in a zone-based structure that included six distinct zones throughout the globe. In its first year, 2017, the FIFA eClub World Cup was a 1v1 competition; the following year, the structure was altered to the 2v2 style that has proved popular with fans.

Let us look at the FIFA eClub World Cup and its all.

About The Matchups

All 42 participants in the FIFA eClub World Cup 2021 zone finals have been announced after a heated online qualifying process that saw a record number of over 480 clubs participate in the online qualifications.

Two players from each team participated in the World Cup, the highest level of competitive FIFA, for bragging rights and a share of USD 245,000 in prize money (on top of the USD 105,000 awarded during the online qualifications). More teams have shown off their abilities to an international audience, with 42 teams qualifying for the zone finals.

Conventional football clubs with dedicated esports squads, like Inter eSports, indigenous esports squads, like Mkers, and community squads, like WICKED ESPORTS, have all qualified for the most anticipated FIFA esports club tournament of the year.

Each squad has battled its opponents for the chance to represent its zone as a champion, and each has succeeded.

So, What Is FIFAe Club World Cup All About?

After previous incarnations, such as the FIFA Interactive World Cup (FIWC) and the FIFA eWorld Cup, FIFA and its presenting partner, EA Sports, now host an esports competition called the FIFAe World Cup. Players in each event use the most recent instalment of the FIFA series of association football video games to simulate their matches. 

The FIWC has been named the most significant online eSports game by Guinness World Records because its open qualification style enables millions to play in the earliest online rounds. As of now, Umut G├╝ltekin of Germany is the current champion.

History Of FIFA eClub World Cup

While it all started in Switzerland back in 2004, the FIWC has become a major international event in its own right. Though Guinness World Records recognised the FIWC for the first time in 2010, the current record of over 2.5 million participants was not reached until 2013.

On October 1st, 2015, the FIWC 16 got underway; it was the 12th iteration of the competition. Players on Xbox One and PlayStation 4 faced off against one another for the first time in the tournament’s history. There was a dramatic rise in FIWC participation once support for Xbox One and Nintendo Switch was added, compared to when the game was just PlayStation 3-exclusive.

Over 2.3 million hopefuls tried to make it to the New York City championship. On March 22nd, 2016, Mohamad Al-Bacha of Denmark defeated Sean Allen of England in the final match to win the FIWC championship at the Apollo Theater.

The FIFA eWorld Cup replaced the FIFA Interactive World Cup (FIWC) in 2018. (FeWC). The O2 Arena in London, England, played host to the 2018 Grand Finals on August 2nd-4th. On August 2nd, 2018, the final 32 players (16 on PS4 and 16 on Xbox One) participated in the group stage and round of 16, with the second round of 16 and quarterfinals taking place on August 3rd, 2018. On August 4th, 2018, there were the semi-finals and the final.

As part of the rollout of FIFA’s new FIFAe esports competition series, the FIFA eWorld Cup was renamed the FIFAe World Cup in October 2020.

Details Of Tournament

  • Pre Game Screening

You only need the latest copy of EA Sports FIFA for Xbox One or PlayStation 4 to participate in the FeWC online qualifying tournament. Those that finish in the top 16 in their respective console playoffs advance to the eWorld Cup finals. Participating in one of the FIFA Global Series events during the season is another way for players to qualify for the FeWC; the top 16 finishers at the final event will earn berths in the tournament.

The PlayStation 5 is the only gaming platform in the 2022 version. There are 128 participants in the FIFA Global Series Playoffs; 74 are chosen based on their Regional Global Series Ranking, while the remaining 54 are selected based on their performance in their respective Partner Leagues.

  • Tournament Winners

The FeWC Finals include 32 of the best players in the world. A total of 16 players will advance to the next round of competition, which begins with the competitors split into four groups (two for each console). In contrast to earlier rounds (Group Stage, Round of 16, Quarterfinals, and Semifinals), the Final consists of a two-legged contest with one game on each console. The Grand Final is a three-day event consisting of a draw and the actual tournament. A live programme is held to announce the winner and award prizes.

In the 2022 version, games are exclusively playable on PlayStation 5 platform. Matches in the Group Stage used to be played throughout two legs in a single round-robin style, but starting in the 2022 edition, each team only played the other once.

  • Placement on the International Scale

FIFA established the Interactive World Cup World Ranking in 2016 to assist seed the players in the tournament based on their prior performances. Both past FeWC Grand Finals and the current edition’s qualifying round are included towards the final standings.

  • Prizepool

The 2018 FeWC victor took home $250,000 and an invitation to the Best FIFA Awards, where he will rub shoulders with the game’s true greats. 2015 FIWC champion Abdulaziz Alshehri of Saudi Arabia met Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi, among many others; 2016 FIWC champion Mohammad Al-Bacha spoke with Marcelo Vieira and Manuel Neuer.

Final Words

These are all the details you need to know about the Fifa eClub World cup, a famous and renowned event among football and FIFA enthusiasts.

Leave a Comment