The Most Historic FIFA Tournament: The 2014 World Cup

The 20th FIFA International Cup in Brazil in 2014 was the world championship for men’s national football teams that FIFA hosts every four years. Brazil hosted the event from June 12-13, 2014, having been granted permission in 2007.

It was the sixth instance the tournament had been held in South America and the second time it had been hosted in Brazil (the last time was in 1950). Both fans and experts agree that this World Cup is among the best players.

Including the host country, 31 other national teams qualified to compete in the final event (with Bosnia and Herzegovina as the only debutant). A total of 64 games were played in 12 different locations throughout 12 other host cities in Brazil.

Goal-line technology and disappearing spray for free kicks were utilized for the first time in the World Cup finals. Five million people attended FIFA Fan Fests in the host cities, while one million tourists from 202 nations flocked to the country. 

All previous World Cup champions were able to participate. The inaugural event was held in 1930. Current champions Spain were knocked out in the group stage, along with England and Italy. France went home in the quarterfinals, while Uruguay lost in the round of 16. Brazil, the 2013 FIFA Confederations Cup champion and tournament host, fell 7-1 to eventual champion Germany in the semifinals. Brazil ended in fourth place.

Germany won the 2014 World Cup by beating Argentina 1-0 overtime to become the first unified nation to win the event. Before German reunification in 1990, West Germany had won the World Cup by beating Argentina in 90 minutes. After Italy in 2006 and Spain in 2010, Germany is the third European team to win the World Cup. This tournament was held in the Americas for the first time.

Choice and selection Of Host For The 2014 World Cup

Brazil’s selection as hosts was announced in 2007. Since 1978, the World Cup has not been hosted in South America, but in March 2003, FIFA declared that the event would return to the region. This was done following FIFA’s then-current policy of alternating hosting of the World Cup among the various confederations. 

When South Africa was shortlisted to host the 2010 FIFA World Cup, it was the first time it had been held twice outside of Europe. When compared to the rest of the Southern Hemisphere, it ranked second. Brazil and Colombia were the only two countries to announce their candidacy publicly. However, when Colombia withdrew, Brazil was voted as the host country without any competition on 30 October 2007.

2014 World Cup FIFA Anticipated Matchups

1Brazil32107257Advance to the knockout stage
1Netherlands330010379Advance to the knockout stage

Venues For The 2014 World Cup

The tournament will occur at 12 locations in 12 different cities and 12 other venues (7 new and five restored). It was a more equally dispersed hosting than the 1950 finals in Brazil, with sites spread throughout the country’s central regions. As a result, teams had to travel great distances to participate in the competition. Many towns in Brazil hosted teams in 32 different base camps and official fan fests where fans could watch games.

Seven matches were played at each of the most popular venues, the Maracana and Brasilia. Four games were played in each of the four least-used stadiums in Cuiabá, Manaus, Natal, and Curitiba. These were the four most minor stadiums in use at the tournament; hence, they did not host any matches in the knockout stages.

Innovations in FIFA 2014

There was successful testing of goal-line technology during the 2013 Confederations Cup, which led to its use in the 2014 World Cup. There were 14 high-speed cameras in the selected Goal Control system, with seven aimed at each of the four nets. Data were routed to the central image processing center to validate the goal, where a virtual depiction of the ball was shown on a widescreen.

The referee’s watch would vibrate and flash a signal whenever a goal was scored. The second goal scored by France in their group-stage match against Honduras was the first occasion goal-line technology was used to determine whether or not a goal should be awarded.

As a result of the positive effects of the testing, FIFA gave the go-ahead for the officials to employ vanishing spray for the first time during a World Cup Final. The water-based spray may designate a ten-yard line for the defensive side during a free kick and draw where the ball will be put for a free kick and dissipates within minutes.

In the 2014 World Cup, out of Sialkot, Pakistan, Forward Sports provided the official match ball for the FIFA World Cup, an Adidas Brazuca. After hearing complaints about the Adidas Jabulani used in the last World Cup, Adidas decided to come out with a new design.

To keep costs down, we thermally bonded only six fewer panels. Because of this, the resulting ball is more uniform and aerodynamic than its forerunner. In addition, Adidas spent almost two years testing several versions of the ball to ensure it would pass muster with professional football players.

Final Words

These are all the essential details you should know about one of the most extraordinary FIFA tournaments, The 2014 World Cup, which has a special place in the hearts of football fans.

Leave a Comment